Is Jupyter notebook still practical?

Ismailouahbi
3 min readFeb 6, 2023

--

Photo by Fotis Fotopoulos on Unsplash

Whether you are a Data scientist, Analyst, Engineer, or Machine Learning practitioner you have undoubtedly used Jupyter Notebook before or at least a code editor with cells to run each chunk of code separately. Aren’t you?

If not then, it’s the time! but why?

Advantages of Jupyter Notebook based upon my own experience:

Jupyter Notebook UI

As you can see:

  • Beginner friendly UI
  • Easy-to-read code
  • Supports R, Julia & more programming languages
  • Easy to export with various formats including HTML, PDF..etc
  • Supports markdown language for text formatting and styling

but why choose an alternative to Jupyter Notebook?

  • Jupyter Notebook can’t bring the utilization of various languages at the same time.
  • No collaboration & real-time monitoring.
  • Not really interactive.
  • Not too much secure
  • Can you add more? (comments section)

Noteable

The Collaborative Data Notebook For EDA & ETL — Noteable

Noteable is a collaborative data notebook that enables data-driven teams to use and visualize data, together.

Well, this is a great solution if you want really to focus on the building process while collaborating with other members & communicating results to stakeholders as it facilitates all these steps in addition to its support for a multitude of programming languages making it more business oriented.

My usage

I came across a similar article in which the author cited Noteable & then I tried it out, it was such an amazing tool with professional UI its an upgrade to Jupyter Notebook, I’m still using it & exploring more of its features but, what I really liked is:

  • Interactive results either for pandas data frames or other data structures

With its powerful yet interactive UI, you can easily sort, filter & do descriptive statistics on your data.

  • Export your graphs, paginate, and more
  • Add visualizations, filters, and dashboards with one click
  • Support for various visualizations (word cloud, scatterplot..etc)
  • Advanced plots(violinplot)

That’s all for this article, I’ll let you discover more while working with this tool, and let me know if you have any remarks or addition.
Thanks for reading.

Visit my website: Home — IsmailOuahbi.com
Follow me on LinkedIn for more.

Follow me on Twitter for more.

--

--

Ismailouahbi

I share my unique experiences and insights, unraveling the complexities of machine learning and data science in an engaging and accessible manner.